Special Diets: Going Paleo

In addition to our already overwhelming changes to our diet, our oldest son has had to go Paleo.  Our naturopathic doctor actually suggested we do it as a family, minus eggs, of course.  A Paleo diet is a diet based on our ancestors hunter/gatherer diet and includes:

  • Grass-produced meats
  • Fish/seafood
  • Fresh fruits and veggies
  • Eggs
  • Nuts and seeds
  • Healthful oils (Olive, walnut, flaxseed, macadamia, avocado, coconut)

I don’t know that we are all ready to do that, yet.  But our son is quite happy to do whatever it takes to get himself healed as soon as possible.  He is tired of being . . .  tired.

To keep me from having to make six different meals per day, plus snacks, my current research involves figuring out meals we can ALL eat, or I can just simply have him avoid one dish from.  He does seem perfectly happy with meats and vegies and does not complain about not being full from lack of carbs.  But he is also not expending much energy right now, either.  The Paleo diet I can see being very expensive to follow, especially since we cannot do eggs (which we raise!).  Are you sensing my frustration, here?

We’ve cut way back on gluten, although some of us still consume it.  The goal is to get it out of our diet altogether.  Baking, which is not something I really enjoy, but has proved in the past to be a very efficient way to feed my larger family, has changed for me and I have not been able to get my footing, yet.  I find I get good results baking without dairy or eggs, but throw in gluten free and I am completely messed up.

Today’s pancakes are a great example.  They were gluten, dairy and egg free, mostly whole grain, and they stuck to the greased pan so bad that I just gave up cooking them.  And this was not the first time.  I know I can get good mixes out there that mimic white flour, but we don’t normally eat white flour baked goods and the mixes tend to be very high glycemic (blood sugar raising) -also a concern of mine.

The Paleo flour options of coconut and almond are my only hope, at this point, to get a good product that everyone can eat.  But I really think I’m going to have to re-program myself not to expect the same types of muffins and scones I am used to getting.  I did make some Paleo coconut muffins the other day, which were moist, but dense and different.  They didn’t eat them all up in one sitting, as they normally would.  But they were gone by shortly after lunch time.  I just have to keep pinning and testing, I guess!

All of this to say, no, I don’t “have it all together.”  I do struggle to feed my family well within the confines of time, budget and food intolerances.  I don’t have it all figured out, yet.  But it’s my job, so I am trying.  I get discouraged sometimes and give up and do stupid things like making a run for the border.  I ALWAYS REGRET IT.

I will keep you updated on this journey we’re on, and continue to try to help others as best I can.  That’s what I’m called to do and I do love it.  Questions, comments and recipes posted below are always welcome, folks.

Glad to be back!

 

Leave a Reply

