Let’s Try This, Again: Lacto-Fermented Vegetables

I tried these once before, but it didn’t work out. This year, we have such a bumper crop of cucumbers, 3 different kinds, that I had to figure a way to use them up and I didn’t want to water bath can them all. I wanted to make lacto-fermented, probiotic pickles. So I did.

There are many recipes on the internet, and many call for the use of whey as a kick start to the process. I didn’t want to use dairy, for various reasons, so I found some recipes that called for sea salt only, and it worked just fine. I made 3 and a 1/2 gallons of cucumber pickles and a jar of red onion pickles. Now, I am very much looking forward to making some carrot pickles.

DSC01642

I did all kinds of different cuts and sizes for my pickles.  But the best were the halves.  They came out just right.  It helps that they have red pepper from the garden in them to give them a bit of a kick.

These do not have to be refrigerated, as long as they are put in cold storage, 65 degrees or cooler.  It’s one of my goals to become proficient at preserving food in the traditional ways, which do not require refrigeration or freezing.  I’m a novice, just figuring it all out.  But I’m working on it.

I found watching this English lady helpful.  http://www.youtube.com/user/dieteasily

Also, I found a lot of recipes using Pinterest.

After this project, I made some lacto-fermented catsup.  I used this recipe, except I used some liquid from some kimchi I already had in place of the whey.  http://nourishedkitchen.com/homemade-ketchup/  It turned out pretty good and we enjoyed some tonight in some homemade Thousand Island dressing..

Leave a Reply

