Been Busy. What Else is New?

Hi, all.  I’ve been busy here with gardening, some food preservation, sewing, weekends away for work and family, painting our living and family rooms and working on a project for our two year old.

We’re making an old entertainment center we got for free into a play kitchen for her.  It was supposed to done for her second birthday, but we ran out of time so are just hoping to get it done this week.  For information and fantastic photos of entertainment centers turned play kitchens, check out Pinterest or just Google “entertainment center DIY play kitchens.”

Seems like I’m always way too busy and there is never enough time in the day.  I would really like to make some changes this school year so we can be at rest, more.  I’m not sure how to go about that with teens in the house.  I’ll let you know when I come up with a solution!  For now, all I can think of is better organization to save more time.

One way to accomplish this is to create color coded chore charts.  In our family, each child has his or her own color and all charts, lists, etc., reference that child’s color.  I recently did a chore chart for this year as we switched up the kids’ chores again and I will upload it here for your review.  I like to use WORD, but you could certainly do it in EXCEL, too.  It’s an easy chart to make and it keeps things simple for the kids, removing guesswork or confusion about who is supposed to do what.

Now, if I can just figure out a way to make them enjoy their work, we’d be lookin’ good.

This week, I’ve got two kids at day camp and I miss them something terrible, already.  It’s only Monday!  My agenda for this week is:

  • Make pickles
  • Make relish
  • Make mixed berry jam
  • Go through and sort clothing
  • Choose paint and start painting chicken coop with kids

I’m starting the week off caught up on all laundry, so I need to keep it that way.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

