It’s Not Rocket Science: You CAN Make Bone Broth

I have SO MISSED being here the last six months!  It’s just been so busy here that I haven’t made the time to write.  In addition, I have had some health issues to deal with which I may or may not get into here at some point.  But I am hoping to make more time to write in the new year.

Today, I felt like I should write a post about making bone broth.  I have had several people ask me if it’s hard to make, how to make it, etc., that I think this post is timely, at least in my own circles.  I hope it helps some of you who are reading from far away, too.

It’s easy to make nourishing bone broth and you can do it.  Just choose a day when you plan to be home to make it.

First, let’s quickly review why we should make bone broth in the first place.  According to the Body Ecology website (www.bodyecology.com), bone broth (and I quote, because I cannot say it better!):

  • Is full of minerals.
  • Fortifies the immune system.
  • Enhances digestion.
  • Nourishes all body parts related to collagen. This means joints, tendons, ligaments, skin, mucus membranes, and bone.

“A well-made bone broth will give your body calcium, phosphorous, magnesium, sodium, potassium, sulfate, and fluoride.”  Many of us are magnesium deficient, and this might result in morning sickness during pregnancy, as new studies are indicating.  If only I had known this before!

“Bones, marrow, skin, tendons, ligaments, and the cartilage that sometimes accompanies a bone are all made of a protein molecule called collagen. Collagen contains two very special amino acids: proline and glycine.”

“Collagen has been found to help heal the lining of the gastrointestinal tract, which includes the stomach and the intestines. This means that heartburn or GERD (gastroesophageal reflux disease) and many of the conditions associated with intestinal inflammation can be helped with bone broth.”

  • Collagen and gelatin have been shown to benefit gastric ulcers. (1)
  • Proline is necessary for the formation of collagen.
  • Glycine improves digestion by increasing gastric acid secretion. (2)
  • Glutamine, also found in bone broth, is important metabolic fuel for cells in the small intestine.

Glutamine is also an excellent post workout supplement, helping you recover quickly afterwards.  My husband takes glutamine supplements 45 minutes before his MMA classes and it has really made a difference for him.

Unfortunately, for those on plant based/vegetarian diets, there is no direct equivalent source of collagen.  You might do some research to pinpoint the correct balance of amino acids you need to consume to stimulate your body to produce collagen.

All above quote and bulleted material is from www.bodyecology.com.  Non-quoted material is mine.

So, let’s now get into the nitty gritty of how I make my bone broth.  I’m sure everyone does things a bit differently.  I plan to be home all day when I make it.  Monday is a good day for me.

First, I choose bones that have been sustainably raised and are usually “organic.”  The important thing is to know what the animal has been eating.  We try hard to avoid animals who have been raised on genetically modified foods like corn and soy.  Knowing your farmer is the absolute best way to guarantee the quality of your meat and bones.  If you do not have that luxury (and I know I am sometimes spoiled) choose meat and bones from the store that are raised without hormones or in the case of turkey, one that has also not been injected with anything.  I waited too late to get my turkey this year and ended up with non-organic, but it was free range and didn’t have anything injected into it.  I am not a big turkey fan, but it was probably the best turkey I have ever had.  That might have something to do with how my Mom cooked it, though.  It was gorgeous!  Thanks, Mom!

In a large stock pot, I placed the turkey carcass, 12 cups of filtered water, 4 celery stalks, three large, peeled and trimmed carrots, a whole onion, quartered (leave the skin on for color), a bunch of cilantro (You can omit this or use any herb you like.  I’m a big fan of cilantro and I always have it in the frig.) and a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar.  The vinegar helps extract the minerals from the bones.  You can use any type of vinegar, but I prefer to use Bragg’s ACV.  I let it cook all day, adding more filtered water if necessary.

Your broth should be golden colored when finished.  Before dinner, I strain all of the broth into canning jars, cool and freeze or refrigerate for the week.  Or, I strain some directly into a pot, re-use the now soft cooked vegetables and add meat from the bone broth or other meat I have set aside and some noodles and cook until noodles are soft.  I normally use quinoa or buckwheat noodles.  Then we have that for dinner. This wonderful for everyone’s digestion and a great thing to feed baby with all of those soft vegetables!

DSC01576

It’s possible to re-use your bones, especially if they are beef bones.  Just freeze them for another time and then add them to your pot frozen next time.  I do.

Bone broth has become my breakfast staple.  I just enjoyed a bowl of turkey bone broth soup for breakfast this morning.  I know it sounds strange, but it is a great way to break the fast and start my day.

I’ve read that others make bone broth in their crockpots.  My crockpots aren’t big enough for the amount I want to make to feed my family.  But I would encourage you to check into if it would work for you.

So, there you have it.  You don’t have to be a rocket scientist to make nourishing bone broth.  You need just some bones, a pot and some time.  Just do it.

Leave a Reply

