My Diet needs to be edited….long story.

I returned home yesterday at about 9:30 am after a three hour stay in our local Emergency Room.  Oh, the joy!

Monday night at about 10:30 pm, I began to have what I thought was severe indigestion pain.  It persisted, even after I took a few things that usually take care of it.  The pain was excruciating, and I was beginning to get really concerned that it was something else.  David called my midwife and spoke to her for some time and she suggested the ER.  So we called my folks, who arrived at about 6 am to stay with the children and we left.

They treated me for indigestion, but it did not work.  Then the doc (who looked super young to me!) felt around and when I said ouch where my gallbladder was I thought, oh, no!  The pain radiates with a gallbladder attack across your upper abdomen and into your back, and it’s symptoms are very similar to indigestion, so it is really hard to tell what the problem was.  I was sent for blood work and for a full ultrasound: kidneys, liver, pancreas, gallbladder, spleen, everything but the baby!

Turns out I have gallstones and I have to change my diet, ASAP.  The diet is extremely limited, which is a bit of a problem since I am pregnant.  I might need will likely need to seek the counsel of a dietician.  No animal fats, no meat, no gluten, no this, no that……oh, boy!  Big changes.

We try to follow a Weston A. Price, traditional diet.  I will not be able to do this for some time.  I’d prefer to keep all of my original parts, if possible, so I have a lot of research to do.  And my midwife is helping me.  So far, the rest of my organs look great and my gallbladder is not infected, so I will be okay as long as I change my diet and we monitor the gallbladder.

I just came back from the store with a lot of fruits and vegies and vegetable juice and broths, some rice noodles and ingredients to make my own sushi.  Now I know why sushi agrees with me so well.  It is on the okay to eat list, as long as it is vegie, which is the kind I like.  I should be able to come up with something from what I bought that I can eat.  I guess it’s a good thing I like to experiment with cooking and I have done some study on gluten free diets and cooking.  It’s coming in handy right now!

Strangely, my morning sickness all-day nausea left a few weeks ago, but I have still been vomiting.  This is not uncommon for me.  I get quite ill while pregnant and then I stay ill into the 2nd trimester at least.  Well, looking at the list of items I can’t have was like reading about everything I have been vomiting.  So I might be done with the morning sickness and now really just dealing with the gallbladder issues -and I didn’t even know it.  I know the condition of your liver and gallbladder have a lot to do with  morning sickness.  So maybe if we can get this all figured out, I will know better how to eat next time I am pregnant and will be a little less sick, too.

We’ll see.

If you’ve stayed around this long, I admire your fortitude.  Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

