Why Christians Should Store Food II

Let me start by saying that I am no expert (by far) on the Mormon faith, nor am I preaching it.  This is a series about food storage and I really can’t talk about that without mentioning the LDS Church and how they do food storage, what they recommend, etc.  There are many helpful websites and blogs run by LDS women who are very organized and helpful when it comes to food storage.  I have learned a lot from these ladies and used some of their ideas in my own food storage program.

Because of their beliefs, the Mormon people are required to store a certain amount of food in their homes.  They are commanded to have a years supply of food.  This is the goal.  They first concentrate on a three-month supply of what a family normally eats.  Then they recommend working on the water supply -a gallon per day per person minimum. Then they concentrate on the Basic 4: Salt, Honey or Sugar, Powdered Milk and Wheat.  These are considered the four items that will keep you alive.  That is not to say you will not get bored with it or you will have a lot of energy on this diet.  You will not have energy.  This is simply the minimum to keep you alive.

Now, I have a few comments about this.  First, I think that a three month food storage plan is great for everyone.  Stocking up on three-months worth of what you normally eat is beneficial in so many ways, most of which I mentioned in my previous post about food storage.  Another reason I came up with is what if you or your spouse loses their job?  At least you know for sure that you have three months of food to feed your family with.  That is a huge stress reliever!

Adding to and rotating your food storage is key.  If you do not rotate your food storage, you will lose food.  If you do not store what you KNOW you are going to eat, you will lose food.  That is not smart or economical.  Buy what you KNOW you will use.

For disaster emergencies, everyone should store water.  That’s a minimum requirement according to…..me.  I don’t know how many of you realize that the victims of Hurricane Katrina had a real water problem because everything was contaminated?  Not being able to get to the people and distribute the water put a lot of people in danger of dehydration.  Many contracted Hepatitis A from contaminated water and children died. 

Storing water is so easy to do.  When the big packs of bottled water go on sale for $2.99 or less, pick some up.  I think I have 8 or 10 of them.  I have a lot further to go, but I’m working on it.

About their Basic 4, it’s really not enough to truly live on, so I have some alternatives I would like to talk about in another installment, especially for families who have food issues like Celiac Disease, etc.   The concentration on wheat is unnecessary, as there are so many other grains out there that store well and are very nutritious. 

Thanks for reading.  Until next time, blessings today, Kris

4 thoughts on “Why Christians Should Store Food II

  1. This makes great sense! And if I would have been more prepared this first trimester of mine would have been a lot easier on the whole family.

    I am definitely hoping to get back ‘ahead’ before #2 comes.

    Glad to have met you… looking forward to reading more!

    Sylvia

  2. Yes, there was a great thread about this on babycenter, but most of them were more ‘wintery’ meals it seems.
    So, I talked to the hubs tonight and we both agreed it would be smart to get lots of grill-able foods ready!
    (marinated and cut chicken for ka-bobs, brats and such…)

    xoxo
    Sylvia

  3. Sylvia, Yes! Grilled chicken is so versatile. I love that. My Beloved loves lasagna anytime of year, so I usually make those.

    Any meat pre-cooked and recipe ready is good, too. My family loves sloppy joes, tacos, etc. You can shred the chicken for tacos, quesadilla, enchiladas, and more. We like Mexican food a lot at our house. Grilled Chicken Caesar salads good, too!

    Canned beans or beans cooked and ready to go in the freezer are also handy. I make a Mexican salad with black beans that is really yummy! The recipe is on this site somewhere.

    I have series about this kind of thing that you can click through. It’s called PAK and there is a tab for it at the top of my site.

Leave a Reply

