Easy Fall Gourmet Dinner

Saturday night, I went all out and made a several course dinner for my family.  It was all fall/winter type items and it was really yummy.  I wanted to share what I did with you.

Not Pictured: Roasted Acorn Squash Halves

We went to Costco on Friday night and I saw these lovely looking pork chops.  Now, we don’t eat pork often and I haven’t had a pork chop in 10 years, but it kind of sounded good, so I put them in my cart.  (Incidentally, after speaking to our local Costco butcher, we learned that all of their meat is high quality meat grown without hormones or other garbage.  It’s better quality than can be found in your local supermarket.  That’s something I thought everyone might be interested in.)

On Saturday night, I felt inspired.  I decided to roast some acorn squash halves with butter and brown sugar  in one pan and in another, I roasted some cauliflower and green beans that I’d just picked from the garden (the last of them) with some olive oil and sea salt.

I made some pear/apple compote to go with the pan fried pork chops.  Using my apple peeler/corer, I got them all sliced (it works on pears, too!) and put them in a hot pan with melted butter.  As they began to cook, I drizzled some nice balsalmic vinegar over them and stirred gently until they were almost cooked.  Then added a little brown sugar and a dash or two of pumpkin pie spice.  The vinegar added just the right amount of acid to make the compote interesting.  It was the perfect accompaniment to the chops.

As for the chops, I rubbed them with a rub I had made in my pantry.  It’s been a while, but I think I used this recipe or one really similar.  I then seared them in some heated olive oil for 2 minutes per side, then cooked about 2-3 minutes per side after that.  They came out perfect.

I served it all with some of the roasted garlic bread from Costco.  Love that stuff.

Everyone raved.  It was a crowd pleaser, and that doesn’t happen very often around here.  I hope this inspires you to be creative with the bounty of fall, too!

This post is part of the Raising Homemakers Homemaking Link-Up!

One thought on “Easy Fall Gourmet Dinner

Leave a Reply

