(a little bit healthier) Hot Winter Drink

Do you enjoy hot drinks in the winter months like I do?  Well, I don’t even wait for winter to enjoy them.  I’ve been making them this fall and I wanted to share this hot drink recipe with you.  My kids and I both enjoy this one and it is easy to make if you have the ingredients on hand.

Hot Pero & Cocoa Drink

1-3 Tablespoons of Sucanat (This is natural sugar cane, and is what we use for sweetener most of the time.  I use the full 3 Tablespoons, blush.)

1 Tablespoon of Unsweetened Cocoa Powder

1 teaspoon of Pero

(Updated to add: Pero is a roasted grain coffee substitute that is used just like instant coffee granules would be.  I believe it is a German Swiss product and I get it from Azure Standard, but it can be found in grocery stores [including Ray’s Food Place and Food 4 Less] in my area.  Check it out here  www.perous.com.  Pero has been around for a while.  It is listed in some of my old natural foods cookbooks from the ’70’s.)

5 Ounces of Hot Water

3 Ounces of Whole Milk (We use raw milk.)

I mix the dry ingredients in the mug and then add the hot water from my kettle, mix well and then add the milk and mix again and serve.  This makes it just the right temperature for my children to enjoy right away.

I will serve this with breakfast, especially if we are having a cold breakfast.  I like to make sure they have something to warm their bellies with.  Or, we’ll have it mid morning for a snack.

Enjoy!

This post is part of the Raising Homemakers Homemaking Link -Up!

4 thoughts on “(a little bit healthier) Hot Winter Drink

    • Audrey, I am going to clarify that in my post as well, because you are not the only person to ask. I should have done that when I wrote it.

      Pero is a roasted grain coffee substitute that is used just like instant coffee. You can see it here: http://www.perous.com and we find it in our grocery stores here on the West Coast and I get it from Azure Standard (www.azurestandard.com) as well.

  1. I think my kids would love this drink! They all love coffee, which I’m not too thrilled about, since I can’t stand it. LOL I’m going to have to check my local Ray’s to see if they have Pero in stock.

Leave a Reply

