Preserving the Bounty

I’ve been busy here at Almost Plum Nearly putting up as much food as I can for the winter time, which tends to be a little leaner for folks in our industry.  The Lord always takes care of us, but he also prompts us to do some of the work, so here it is.  Here’s a photo of a few of the things I’ve been working on.  This is just the tip of the iceberg.  I do hope to put up more, uh…..just not this week (big sigh of relief).  I’m looking forward to starting school with my children this week, so a break from canning is in order!

Pictured from left to right: Ovendried Tomatoes packed in Olive Oil (refrigerated), Dried Peach Slices, Vinegared Onions, Zucchini Relish, Garlic Dills, Peach Halves, Peach Jam, Blackberry Jam (and the Strawberry Jam got cut off somehow).

So total, I canned the following:

15 Pints Peach Jam

5 Pints Blackberry Jam

5 Pints Strawberry Jam

5 Pints Apricot Jam

5 Pints Plum Jam (low sugar, not a hit here)

5 Pints Raspberry Jam

5 Pints Cranberry Jam

4 Quarts Garlic Dill Pickles

1 Quart Dried Peaches (some missing in photo because of little hands ;D)

2 Pints Dried Tomatoes packed in oil

2 Pints Vinegared Onions

4 Cups Zucchini Relish

I would still like to make some Jalapeno Jelly (LOVE THAT STUFF), more fruit jam (as I calculate for 1 pint per week, so I need at least 7 more, not including gifts), more garlic dill pickles, vinegared onions and I plan to make this Master Tonic and bottle it for my family and to share with others.  And the tomatoes keep coming, so if I get really brave, I might do salsa.  We’ll see.

If I find more great deals on fruit, I will gladly can, jam and dry that, too.  Keeping my ears to the ground!

Leave a Reply

