Lots to Do!

In case you haven’t noticed, I’ve been too busy to even plan or post my weekly menus lately.  And I am not afraid to be honest with you all and say that  I’m pretty overwhelmed right now.

I am still trying to get ready for school to start and I’ve got a bunch of food to deal with over here.  It’s all my doing, of course.  Afterall, I went out and got the food!  But my gut tells me it’s important to put up as much as I can for this winter, and although my canning skills are limited, I’m pretty ambitious.  So here I am with 6 bags of peaches (which I got at .10 a pound, thank you very much), a bag of pickling cucumbers and even more Roma tomatoes ripening in the garden – and I just dehydrated a whole bunch.

Tomorrows plan is to get the pickles done and make about four batches of peach jam, if I have enough jars, with the peaches that are ready to go.  Some of them need a few days to ripen.  The rest of the peaches will be either dried or canned and I’ve never done either with peaches.  I always find being on a learning curve with time pressure a lot of……well, pressure.  I also need to make a last ditch effort to fertilize my garden and see if I can’t get some winter squash out of it.  I am just starting to get some fruit on those and they probably won’t have enough time, but one can hope.

Tuesday we have swim lessons, so we’ll come home and reorganize our library.  It’s good sized, so that should take the afternoon.

Wednesday I will deal with drying and canning the rest of the peaches, I hope.

Thursday is just plain busy with outside activities(swim & horse lessons and something else I can’t remember right now, eek!) in the AM, so we will probably get the rest of our school supplies organized and I get to go to a homeschool meeting that night, yay!

Friday I will leave for planning and overflow of whatever I didn’t get done earlier in the week. We’re painting the exterior of our house over the weekend, so I might need to run errands for that for Beloved.  It’s going to feel so good to have house paint.  We’ve been without it at all since last fall -we’ve had some primer on it in wetter areas and just recently finished the primer and Beloved finished the prep work this weekend.  I like my house to be pretty and a year is a long time to wait for it.  I am so thankful!

Anyway, suffice it to say that I really can’t wait until my life slows down a bit so I can enjoy schooling my children.  I’m tired and not operating on my own strength, right now.  Good thing I can depend on Someone else for that!

The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and I am helped. Psalm 28:7

Blessings today, Kris

Leave a Reply

