Pantry Challenge Update

The Pantry Challenge is going pretty well.  If you are just joining us and have no idea what I’m talking about: I am challenging myself to prepare only from our pantry and garden through Friday this week.  Let’s talk about what we’ve been eating.

Wednesday night I made Baked Penne Pasta with Sausage.  I used leftover Foccacia Bread I made the night before and dressed it up a bit with some more herbs and cheese and heated in the oven.  I also made a tossed salad.  Tonight, leftovers is on the menu, as we have plenty in the frig that I’d like to use up, including the salad and some fresh tomatoes.

For breakfast, we’ve been eating whole wheat pancakes or oatmeal with maple syrup.  For lunch today, I made Chili, Chips & Cheese, as inspired by my elementary school days, except this was definitely a bit healthier than that!  If you are reading and you went to elementary school with me, you’ll remember what I’m talking about.  And go Mustangs!

Tomorrow I’ll probably make a whole wheat coffeecake for breakfast served with some fruit and for lunch, quesadillas.  Dinner will be boneless beef ribs, roasted potatoes and zucchini from the garden and tomato salad (also from the garden).  All of this comes from our freezer, pantry or garden.  I’ll tell you, it has been a relief not to have to go to the store this week.  It’s saved me a lot of time and also saved us some money.  A challenge like this only works if you keep a well-stocked pantry. 

I need to challenge myself more often to use up what we have instead of going to the grocery and planning my menus from scratch.  I definitely have things in my freezer that I need to use.  My goal is to clean out the freezer and use up what’s in there before I buy any more proteins to store in there this month.  I have two freezers to go through and organize.  So, if you don’t hear from me for a while, you know where I’ll be…..

Leave a Reply

