Pet Peeve #1 Continued

Back to our hotel stay last month.  You know, the one where we got that little extra “surprise” in our room.  They gave us a new room, apologized and we even received a plate of yummy candy-like cookies.

At some point during our stay, I really needed to do a load of laundry.  A family of seven produces a lot of dirty laundry and someone was out of jeans (probably me).  So I took my eldest son with me to throw some laundry into the machines in the exercise room in our building.  Then I supervised his workout while I waited.  And waited.  And waited.  And…..I checked the machine……. NOTHING.

That washing machine had filled up with extremely hot water (I wash in hot) and then stopped.  Nothing else was happening and we’d already been down in the exercise room for what seemed like a while.  I waited a few minustes more just to make sure I wasn’t going crazy.  How long HADwe been down there, anyway?  Then I used my handy dandy cell phone to call my Beloved’s handy dandy cell phone and tell him what was going on.  He confirmed we had been gone a long time (of course it would seem that way to him since he had our other four children with him ;P).  He called maintenance for me and said they would be sending someone down.

The someone didn’t know what to do -he really wasn’t a maintenance man.  The maintenance man had just gone home about ten minutes ago.  KICKING MYSELF FOR WAITING AS LONG AS I DID, I asked him what I should do?  He called the front desk and they said, “maintenance is gone for today.”  When he explained what was wrong, they said they would try to get him to come back.  So he left and I waited.  And waited.  And waited.  I was tired and I wanted to leave the exercise room.  I was looking a little conspicuous since I was the only person down there not……exercising.  And I was missing cuddling with my little boys before bed.

Finally, I asked my son to hold the bag I’d brought everything in while I tried to squeeze everything out by hand and put it back in.  Then I dragged that big,  heavy bag up a flight of stairs and back to the hotel room.  I never heard from the front desk or maintenance again and I have no idea if that water is still sitting in that machine or not!

More about the housekeeping service later…..yes, there’s even more.  Grrr.  I’m still deciding if I want to stay there for our annual conference next year.

Leave a Reply

