An Afternoon in the Garden

Today, I spent the afternoon in the garden, weeding and planting.  We are very blessed with extremely fertile soil.  But you know what that means, right?  The weeds do quite well here, too.

We planted small seedlings in mid-May and some of them were so small and difficult to see once the weeds started coming up, it’s hard to know what to get rid of.  I don’t know which weed it is, but we have one that completely covers the dirt, like it’s spreading.  It is not difficult to pull out, though.  I used a hoe and got really dirty, but with the help of my eldest son, I got them all cleaned out of there.  We were also able to plant several plants that I picked up Saturday.  Some of our seedlings didn’t make it and I wanted to add a few things, too. 

I also planted some flowers in my big pots outside my front door.  I keep grasses in there year round and then I add annuals/perennials seasonally.  Those are the only non-edible things I plan to plant at this house.  Everything we plant, including all of the landscaping, will be edible or medicinal.  That’s my plan.  I mean to ask for certain plants for birthdays and anniversaries.

There was a lot of work to do.  But before we knew it, two hours had passed and  we got it all done!  It was time to start dinner.

Leave a Reply

