Guest Blogging & Other Happenings This Week

Today, I am featured as a guest blogger at simplyrealfood.blogspot.com for her Real Food & Religion Series.  Here’s a link to that post.  Check out this series and read about her day to day healthy eating journey, too.

My folks started all of our garden plants this year.  They have gone out of town for a few days, so the baby plants are now sitting on my kitchen counter where they are getting plenty of light and fresh air from the open window.  Sis and I are keeping them moist.  A few of the plants are outgrowing their start containers, so today or tomorrow, we must transplant them into larger pots.  Hard to believe all the tiny little seeds they planted will produce hundreds of pounds of fruit for both my folks and my family, with more to share through the Plant a Row Program.  We also have the opportunity to sell some of our produce to a local bakery if we have enough surplus.

After soccer on Saturday, Beloved set up our tomato trellis this weekend and installed stakes for a temporary fence to keep the dogs out of the garden area.  He also completed a few other tasks that needed to be done around here.  I worked all weekend, but the only thing I can think of right now that I actually accomplished was scrubbing down the bathrooms, which really needed it.

This week, we’ll hit school heavy.  Then I have a friend coming over on Wednesday afternoon for some help with her daughters diet.  The poor thing is allergic to many things and it is overwhelming for Mama.  I am hoping to give her a few ideas of what’s available out there that she can make for her to eat, along with a food substitutions list.

We started a new system to learn a memory verse each week.  I print it out and post it all over the house, and we go over it at breakfast each day and practice at meal times.  You’d be surprised how much even the little ones pick up from that simple method.  I am excited to see how much we all commit to memory!

I posted our menu plan below. As always, around here, things are flexible!

Blessings today, Kris

Leave a Reply

