Kris' Trail Mix Bars

I’m not posting my menu this week, because I still haven’t done one.  At this point, I think I’ll just wing it.  I bought only what was a really good deal at the store today and we didn’t need much to begin with.  So I have plenty to play with in the kitchen

Speaking of playing in the kitchen, I came up with this recipe on Sunday afternoon.  We eat early on Sundays and then we go to the 9:45 service.  By the time we get there, I have terrible trouble with my two year old being hungry during service.  So I decided to make something filling for the children to eat on the way to church, so they won’t be so hungry during or directly after church.

Here’s what I came up with. A food processor is helpful for this recipe.

KRIS’ TRAIL MIX BARS

  • 3 C. (heaping) Dried apples (You could use whatever dried fruit you like, but I wouldn’t recommend raisins for the bulk of it.  Try to use something like apricots or dates.)  Chop in food pro until cubed in 1/4" to 1/2" size.
  • 2 C. Almonds, chopped in food pro
  • 3 T. Whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/4 C. Nonfat dry milk powder (not instant milk)
  • 1/4 C. Oatmeal, quick, pulsed in food pro
  • 3/4 C. Almond butter
  • 1/2 C. Applesauce, unsweetened
  • 1/2 C. Raw honey
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 C. Carob chips

Set chopped fruit and nuts in bowl.  Combine remaining ingredients to eggs in food pro.  Pour over fruit and nuts and fold in evenly.  Add carob chips and fold in evenly.  Spread mixture into 9×13 pan, sprayed with Pam.  Bake for 30 minutes at 325 degrees.

I was very happy with these, especially since they were my first try.  Notice no added sugar! I would like to improve the texture a bit more.  They were good, but slightly crumbly.  I would like them to bind better, so I will play with the ingredients a bit more next time.  Feel free to make this recipe your own and play around with it.  If I had been able to find my wheat germ, it would have been added.  We must have used it up and I forgot about it.

Also, to make a bar that is not as thick, I will try to spread it more thinly on a cookie sheet next time, which might help it be less crumbly.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

