Frugal Friday: Soap Recipes

All of the following ingredients I already had on hand.  If you coupon shop, it’s possible you could get a better deal on premade stuff versus buying these ingredients.  You just have to do the math and decide which is the most economical way to go for you family.

Dishwasher Detergent

1C. Baking Soda

1 C. Borax

1 C. Water

2 Drops Lemon Essential Oil

Mix well and use in place of dish detergent, about 2 T. per load.  Be sure to use vinegar in the rinse cycle.

Liquid Handsoap

This may or may not appeal to you, but I have used this method a few times throughout the years.  You take odds and ends of bar soap, shower gel, etc., whatever you have.  Melt down in a saucepan with water, whisk together and use the result to fill your liquid soap dispensers.  This time I used shower gel.  After making bar soap on the same day, I will eventually have left over pieces of bar soap to make this with next time.

Bar Soap

I don’t make soap with lye.  It is just nmot convenient for my situation.  I bought olive soap base and melted it down in the microwave.  This is my first time making bar soap and I find I enjoy it.  Here’s what I added to the soap base:

1/2 C. Non fat dry milk powder

1/2 C. Oatmeal ground up in the food processor

1 t. ground vanilla bean pods

1/2 t. Vanilla extract

I  mixed it in with the soap base while hot and quickly poured it into my molds.  I have storebought molds, but you can make a mold out of anything.  I got five bars of soap out of this and it is nice soap.  Not bad for my first time.  I don’t know if you’re supposed to use vanilla extract, but I was trying to get a vanilla scent and didn’t know what else to use.

I don’t think I’ll buy Dove anymore….

My next experiment will be homemade shampoo.  Stay tuned for that.

Leave a Reply

