Frugal Friday: Mock Maple Syrup

I know, I know.  It’s not Friday.  But it was Friday last week when I started this post and it got erased.  This has happened to me a few times in the last week and I didn’t have to time to rewrite my posts.  When will I learn to write them in WORD first you ask?  Hopefully soon…

I’ve had this recipe for many years. This morning, I found it necessary to use it.

We have ALWAYS used pure maple syrup.  I was raised on it, and frankly, I don’t order pancakes in restaurants because I just don’t like what passes for syrup for most.  Alright, alright, I admit to being a food snob.  No surprise to those that really know me.

However, we are experiencing the toughest belt tightening we’ve had in many years, definitely since we’ve become parents.  We ran out of our usual PURE maple syrup and the price has sky rocketed, and the bottle has shrunk. So this morning when I made my homemade buttermilk pancakes, I used an interesting recipe from the book, Miserly Moms by Joni McCoy.  I highly recommend this book, by the way.  It was one of the greatest tools I used to get myself out of the work place almost eleven years ago.  Here’s Joni’s web site:

http://www.miserlymoms.com

 

This got good reviews all around. 

Mock Maple Syrup

2 Cups sugar

1 Cup water

1 teaspoon Maple Extract

1/2 teaspoon Vanilla Extract

Heat sugar and water until bubbly and sugar is dissolved.  Remove from heat and whisk in flavorings.  Serve warm over pancakes, waffles, etc.

This fits great in a pint sized canning jar.  It is not as thick as the mock maple syrup you might buy at the market, but it also doesn’t have all the junk those do, either.  And it does thicken up in the frig for next time.

Not bad at all says the food snob.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

