The Waiting Game

Am I the only one who gets this way with less than a week to go before her due date?

The house is as clean as mine will get with my troops around, the meals are made, the children are bathed, the school lessons are planned, laundry caught up, and I don’t know what to do with myself! 

We seriously thought we were headed to the hospital last night, as I had regular contractions for six hours before they petered out around midnight and I went to sleep.  I also couldn’t keep any food in me yesterday at all.

Those are the first regular contractions I have had so I thought baby was coming soon.  I am having some this morning, but have not timed them yet and don’t think they are too close together.  Beloved won’t be far from me, today.  A big relief.

The only thing I could work on today that would keep my mind busy is baby’s quilt, which still needs to be sandwiched and quilted together.  But since my hands are pretty numb most of the time, I’m not sure how I would go about it.  I really wanted to take the quilt to the hospital with me, but have given the idea up.  I may get inspired to do something with it later today, though.  We’ll see.

I suppose I could bake something.  That would benefit the family if I end up gone overnight.  Maybe some Cranberry Almond Biscotti?  Hmmm….

By the way, the Chocolate Biscotti turned out really good.  I will definitely add it to my repertoire.

Leave a Reply

