Thanksgiving Weekend

I did end up going out yesterday morning, early, to do some shopping.  Beloved felt I had under done Christmas a little, and there were a few good deals in the ads.  I didn’t get what I’d hoped, though, as Walmart was just crazy.  But I did pick up a few small things.  I will never do that again.  I got up at 4:30 AM and I really had not slept at all the night before.

Then I went back later to take advantage of the 1/2 price sock sale Fred Meyer always has on Black Friday morning with my older two children.  They also have free coffee and donuts on that morning, too.

When we got home, everyone got out the Christmas decorations, but I went back to bed  for a couple of hours.  When I got up, I found out that Beloved had to pick glass out of the little one’s mouth, because he put a piece of a broken Christmas light in there thinking it was candy.  It took us a while to track down where the light had come from, but we finally did.  It’s a good thing the little guy followed directions when Daddy was removing that stuff from his mouth.  Now we are seriously considering not putting our bedroom tree up this year, as many of the ornaments are glass, and I’m just not sure I can keep on top of that this year with a new baby, etc.

Last evening I found the items I wanted on Amazon.com with free shipping with close to the same pricing, so I ordered them and they have already shipped.  I love online shopping and it is well worth my time spent to look into each otem and order it.  Now I am definitely done shopping and am relieved.  I also wrapped all the gifts last night and got them under the tree.  That is something that has never happened at our house.  Putting up the tree and getting the gifts wrapped and under it the same day.  Many Christmases I have spent Christmas Eve or the night before that finishing wrapping gifts.  I couldn’t have done all this if Beloved hadn’t been taking good care of the children while I took time out to do it.

I still need to clear out the Fall decorations and put up my Nativity.  But today I am baking some biscotti and some cookies and Son #2 and I made our Peanut Butter Balls we like to make together.  Little guy tried to help, too.  Later I might feel up to putting out the Nativity.  I think the rest of the decorations I will let the children put up in the next week.  My biggest chore today is laundry, since I haven’t done much in the past two days.

Tomorrow we begin our Advent reading and it promises to be an exciting story.  I finally bought Jotham’s Journey after having it recommended so highly by so many Mothers/Homeschoolers.  We’re looking froward to having the day off from our Sunday Home Group to spend as a family and begin our Advent reading.

I need to go cut my biscotti and get it back into the oven for the second baking.  I am trying a new recipe this time, Chocolate Almond, I got from Taste of Home Magazine.  I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Blessings today,

Miss Kris

 

Leave a Reply

