A Good Deal Today

For someone who is used to buying in bulk, which basically means you put out more money up front, but reap the rewards for months to come, this was a fantastic deal.  And, I didn’t even have to leave my house to get it.

I was really worried about getting some chicken this week for a potluck I am cooking for this weekend.  I knew I didn’t have enough in the freezer, and I didn’t want to deplete my supply anyway, since I put it up for this winter, etc., etc.

I’ve been going over and over the ads since Tuesday and the prices on chickens breasts at one store were the only ones that were decent, but it was still high considering I had to cook extra for this weekend.  (If there had been a good deal on whole chickens, I would have jumped at that.)  So the thought occured to me to check the stand alone butcher’s prices.  They run an ad every Tuesday, too, to see what they had.  I sure am glad I did.  They had a special deal if you buy a case of fresh chicken breasts, boneless, skinless (they needed to be trimmed a bit, but not too bad), 40 pounds for $1.50 per pound.  Well, that is the best deal I have ever run across.

My next step was to call and find out where my Beloved was.  He happened to be near the butcher shop and agreed to pick up the 40 pounds for me and purchase the freezer paper I needed to wrap and freeze it.  There you go.  Delivered to my door by my favorite person in the world, timing had to be the Lord. 

Daughter and I wrapped and labeled and sealed into freezer bags and labeled those, too.  No way is that going to get freezer burn.  I am stocked on boneless, skinless chicken breasts and I am very happy.

Leave a Reply

