Saving with Coupons Worth It?

Many people think that using coupons is not worth it or too much work.  It can be a lot of work, yes.  But it can also be very worth it, especially in this economy and with families that may be living on a very tight budget.

For example, today we ran a few errands that put us near the Albertson’s store in town.  Albertson’s takes competitor stores coupons!  I had already looked at the grocery ads and found a few things that I knew I could get free and cheap there this week by combining manufacturer coupons with the sales prices and preferred savings with my customer loyalty card.

So here’s what my receipt today looked like:

Total before coupons 31.92

Preferred Savings -17.63

Manufacturer Coupons – 6.38

Store Coupons – 2.00

TOTAL Out of Pocket = $5.91 

I saved $26.01 on this shopping order and 7 of my items were completely free, 3 of them I MADE money on.

I bought: 4 tubes of Crest Toothpaste (paid only .25 each for these with sale price, manufacturer and double coupons), 3 bags of Green Giant Steamers (these were free, on sale for .99 each, with a $1.00 off coupon ea., made .01 each on them, which applied to my grocery order), 2 Yoplait Yogurts (free with a Checkout Catalina from another store), 5 Lg. Cans Hunts Spaghetti Sauce (nice to have on hand) on sale, 1 -2 Liter Bottle of store brand Ginger Ale (needed for potluck this weekend).

This and other shopping strategies are what allowed me to leave the workforce 10 years ago, never to return!

If this is a subject you all are interested in learning more about, please leave me a comment and I will try to do a series on this subject next.  I think we can all find more ways to save money in this tough economy, especially with winter coming on.

Kris

2 thoughts on “Saving with Coupons Worth It?

  1. Coupons are absolutely worth it! The problem I had (before I learned) is that I would only find a few coupons that were for things I usually bought. I also did not shop grocery store sales (I was walmart only.) Once I realized to save all my coupons and to read the sale ads, I have cut my grocery bill by 1/2 -3/4! I credit my friend for leading me to moneysavingmom.com to learn how to do it.

  2. Hey there! I love coupons! The last Monday of every month the courier has $10 off if you spend $50 or more at Safeway, which Albertsons accepts.
    As I was reading, does Albertsons accept the print outs from other grocery stores too? (The ones that print out with your recipt?) I love your blog, glad I finally made it on to check it out!
    Also, if you go to Wal Marts web site and key in "free sample" in the search it will take you to a spot that you just fill out your name & address & I get all kinds of free stuff in the mail. It's kinda silly stuff sometimes, but it's really fun when it comes- kinda like Christmas, except it's stuff like tiny deoderants & feminine products. But hey, it's that much less I have to buy!

Leave a Reply

