Playgroup Granola Bars

As promised, here is the granola bar recipe I mentioned tonight at our homeschool group meeting.  I reduced the sugar this morning (10/4/08) by 1/4 C. and the honey by a bit and it was perfect for me.   Enjoy!

This was found on www.allrecipes.com, submitted by PREGOCOOK.

2 C. rolled oats

3/4 C. brown sugar

1/2 C. wheat germ

3/4 t. cinnamon

1 C. all-purpose flour (I would use Whole Wheat Pastry Flour)

3/4 C. raisins (optional) (We didn’t use these.)

3/4 t. salt

1/2 C. honey

1 egg, beaten

1/2 C. vegetable oil

2 t. vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Generously grease a 9×13 baking pan.

In a large bowl, mix together the oats, brown sugar, wheat germ, cinnamon, flour, raisins and salt.  Make a well in the center, and pour in the honey, egg, oil and vanilla.  Mix well with your hands.  Pat the mixture evenly into the prepared pan.

Bake for 30-35 minutes in preheated oven, untila ll bars begin to turn golden on the edges.  Cool for 5 minutes, then cut into bars while still warm.  Do not allow the bars to cool completely before cutting, or they will be too hard to cut.

Kris’ Notes: Okay, so since I am a lazy like to save time and I have my very cool mixer, I just put all ingredients in the mixer and mix.  Hands free.  Then I make my daughter put them into the pan and press them down flat.  My hands are still clean, here.  Bake, cut and enjoy!

First installment of the Home School Mom’s Guide to Planning Ahead in the Kitchen to appear sometime tomorrow, Pacific Time.

Blessings today,

Miss Kris

Leave a Reply

