Planning Ahead in the Kitchen: Introduction

Before you read this blog entry, please read Proverbs 31:10-31.  I especially enjoy the Living Bible version of this chapter.

Are you intimidated?  Did you stop reading?  Did you run from the room?  Do you hate me?  

Please don’t.  This chapter used to really discourage me, too.  But then I prayed about it and did some more reading, and I really feel that this is a composite of what a good wife should do throughout her married life, but not necessarily all at once.  There are different seasons to our lives as wives and mothers.  Although those of us in our childbearing years and with toddlers running around may be shopping for bargains, we are not as likely to be sewing clothes for our whole household (although we do provide clothing for our household) or buying and selling real estate.  I believe the Proverbs 31 wife is something to strive for, but I don’t think we are expected to attain it on this earth, just as we will not attain the perfection of Christ on this earth.

This is now one of my favorite chapters of the Bible.  And I read it regularly to remind myself of my duties as wife and mother.  I now read it to be encouraged.

A few things that I see in the Proverbs 31 woman that I think we should pay close attention to:

1. She has many skills.  A lot of us didn’t learn household skills from our mothers because many of them were not taught or they were in the workplace and unable to teach us.  In this case, it is our responsibility to learn them now by reading books, taking classes and finding mentors.

2. She is industrious.  She works hard. 31:17

3. She has integrity.  She is not lazy.  31:27

4. She is resourceful.  She’s creative with what she has and finds ways to get what she needs.  She finds bargains.  31:14

Next week, I will review the reasons we should plan ahead in our kitchens.  Thank you for reading.

Blessings today,

Miss Kris

 Link Up to: www.raisinghomemakers.com

7/29/10 Edited to add:  This series is based on a talk I gave to our homeschool group in 2008.  There are 7 Parts to this series.   Please read the rest of the series in order by clicking this link PAK Series.  Thanks and be blessed!

2 thoughts on “Planning Ahead in the Kitchen: Introduction

  1. Hi Kris-
    Just wanted to say how much I enjoyed your presentation on Thursday night. I have been dreading cleaning out our pantry, and you inspired me! Now it is all organized, clean and ready for action. My 8 year old daughter Adalia is also looking forward to being able to cook more meals for us. Wheee! We want to try the playgroup granola bars this week.
    I read some of your blog, and wanted to let you know that I had the extreme form of morning sickness that you describe-I TOTALLY SYMPATHIZE with you. I lost 30 lbs in my first tri-mester. Poor Jon would leave me on the bathroom floor as he left for work, and come home to find me there too. God is merciful that our pregnancies only last 9 months-for an elephant it is 22! Yikes! Ha! I am so very glad to have met you at TEACH and am glad that you are feeling better.
    Blessings
    Persis Chase

Leave a Reply

