Mt. Washmore & Other Exciting Stuff

Laundry is not my favorite chore.  But I do not hate it as much as I hate to do dishes.  Here’s how I handle laundry at our house.

Each bedroom has it’s own laundry hamper or basket.  The children are responsible to put the clothing they take off into the hamper or basket.  Every other day, I tell them to bring their hampers to the laundry room and I unload and sort the laundry right there and toss them back their hampers to put away.  I have three trash cans in my laundry room -huge trash cans-that I use to sort my laundry in.  One for lights, one for darks and one for towels.  Believe me, they get filled up, too.

I basically do laundry everyday.  If I get everything caught up, I may take a day off, but laundry is almost never caught up around here and I am learning to be okay with that.  I wish I could say that I fold everything when it comes out of the dryer.  I am supposed to do that, but here’s what really happens:  Everything gets piled up and then we all have a folding party.  Either that or I stay up late and watch a movie that only I like and fold, fold, fold.

Everything gets put into colored baskets and taken to the appropriate rooms to be put away.  The children are responsible for putting their own laundry away, including my three year old.  Each bedroom has it’s own colored basket, so I sort everything while folding it.

That’s what happens now at our house.  I hope to become more disciplined and organized so that I can fold everything much sooner.  I am careful right now to pull out things that I need to hand right away so I don’t have to iron them, at least.

I am getting ready to leave for the weekend for Family Camp.  We love Family Camp and I love not having to cook all weekend.  What do you do for Labor Day Weekend?

Miss Kris

Leave a Reply

