Plums

My mom brought me back a file box full of plums from her recent trip to California.  So yesterday afternoon I cut them all up for jam.  It took me all afternoon (with interruptions of course) to cut them up.  So I will be making the jam today.

But first I have a few errands close by to make.  Our little scrapbook store here is closing and everything is 50-80% off.  So I best check that out.

I am going to need to get creative to keep these children busy.  All they want to do is watch videos and I am running out of things for them to do.  I need to come up with something that will keep them busy for at least one batch of jam at a time.  I guess the only way to keep them busy is let them do something which usually ends up making a mess.  Scrapbook stuff, clay, coloring, whatever, it all makes a mess in my kitchen.  Oh, well.

In addition to jam making, I will be working on laundry today.  Sounds like I can recruit some folders for that job!

If I have time, I will cut out one western shirt.  I am making everyone western costumes (some things I bought).  I am making the boys Buckaroo Shirts http://www.buckaroobobbins.com/page14.htm, scroll down to see the shirt.  It’s a great pattern, sizes 4-14 and five different shirts.  And daughter is going to have a Sacagawea costume.  I’ve already cut hers out.

Why am I making costumes you ask?  Good question.  It’s fun!  And Beloved and our oldest son are interested in joining the Single Action Shooting Society or SASS.  Look up SASS for more details, but basically, they will have to dress authentically for the period 1800-1890, depending on the character they choose to be.  They will need to have complete authentic costumes and four guns each, all authentic.  It will take them a few years to gather this stuff together, but I will do my part by making them some of the items.  Also, our family camp this year will be having a western look contest.  So I thought this is good timing to make a few things.

I also need to clean the showers today, too.  We’ll see how much I can get done.

For dinner tonight: Salmon on the grill, broccoli, tossed salad and garlic sourdough bread.  Yum!

Thanks for tuning in and have a wonderful day,

Miss Kris

Leave a Reply

