Update On My Bake-O-Rama

Alrighty, then.  I got three things baked on Tuesday.

3 Pumpkin Breads

2 Banana Breads

Lemon Almond Biscotti

What I have left to do is:

Milky Way Surprises

Russian Tea Cakes

Lemon Bars

Almond Kiss Cookies

Orange Cranberry Drops

We have several loads of laundry to fold by now, and I do need to touch up the bathrooms.  The only thing I didn’t get done last week is mopping the bathroom floors.  But they got vacuumed/swept, and I choose vinyl in there that doesn’t show anything.  I love it!  So I think I will do those floors by hand today or tomorrow.

We continue our unit on dogs.  I found a 100 page coloring book online for free.  Just print it yourself.  Daughter spent some time yesterday printing and colating them.  She did great.

We have been staying up late and plotting against our children.  Hehehe.  Really, we are having some trouble in the "responsibilities" area.  I had gotten some charts from www.doorposts.net earlier this year and had never finished them and hung them up.  So I am working on that, now.  Got them in frames and now need Beloved to hang them on the bedroom hallway wall.  I bought five charts in all: Service Opportunities, The If-Then Chart, Go To The Ant, Brother Offended Chart, and The Blessing Chart. 

If you are not familiar with this family’s products (ministry, really) you need to check them out.  They have created great tools for helping us stick to and be consistent with the discipline, discipling, really, of our children.  We are starting with just two of the charts, so we aren’t introducing too much at one time.

Alright, so I haven’t commented on the whole Kim family situation yet.  This all happened right in our backyard and I have had a huge burden for this family since the story first hit the news.  I prayed fervently that Mr. Kim would be found alive and was crushed, as our Undersheriff Brian Anderson was, when they found him too late. 

It is my understanding that our State Troopers, Forest Service employees and BLM employees are receiving countless emails asking why signs are not put up about Bear Camp Road.  I have to speak plainly here.  There ARE signs.  There are several and there have been for some time.  But folks don’t read them, or they think, "that won’t happen to me."  I am not criticizing the Kim Family.  I know the weather was bad and I know riding in a car with children, you don’t always get to read all of the signs you pass.  I am just saying that there are signs.  After the work and dedication of our law enforcement officials, search and rescue teams and the countless others I know helped in the search, I have a hard time swallowing that people from all over the country are blaming and criticizing whomever they can think of for this tragedy. 

And Nancy Grace from CNN has behaved disgracefully about this story.  Honestly, this type of reporting is trash.  To suggest that Kati Kim should/would sue anyone over this and then to mention our city as a possible defendant is ridiculous.  I’m sorry, but the city has nothing at all to do with the signs or lack thereof on Bear Camp Road. 

This is a prime example of why we shouldn’t believe everything we read or see on television.  She did not have her facts straight and went on anyway.  She wasn’t here, and doesn’t know the area.  Neither do any of these other folks trying to lay blame where it isn’t deserved.  She just wanted a hot story, and she obviously didn’t care how accurate it was.  This is not acting in the spirit of true journalism.  It’s just garbage.  We have to decide if we’re going to let them feed it to us.  It’s pretty scary what can be put out there as fact.  Doesn’t anyone care?

Okay so I got that off my chest.

I still have a huge burden for this family and will continue to pray for them during this heartbreaking time.  This has really made me think about how important my family is to me.  It has also made me think about what I keep in my van for emergencies.  This is something I will have to really think about and change.

Well, I better get busy.  I started the laundry and did the dishes.  I’d better go attack some of this clean laundry and fold it.

How many times did I use the word "really" in this blog entry, anyway?

Leave a Reply

