Our Daily Routine

A Typical Monday

 

Morning

6:00 Rise & Dress

6:30 Children Up – Bible

7:00 Prayer

7:30  Breakfast

        & Clean Up

Children Morning Chores

8:30 Practice Piano

 

Morning Chores

 

Smoothies or Snack

 

10:00  School – Phonics Flashcards, Red & Blue Books (Classic Curriculum), Math, History

Cursive Handwriting Lesson

11:30 Life Skills

 

Afternoon

11:30 Prep Lunch

12:00 Lunch

1:00   Free Time

1:00 Practice Piano

3:00 Snacktime

 

Afternoon Chores

Change Beds

 

4:00 Clean Sweep

4:30 Showers/Baths

 

Evening

5:00 Penmanship & Bible Memory (combined)

Prep Dinner

6:00 Dinner

6:45 Family Devotion

7:15 Reading Practice

8:30 Children to Bed

 

This is pretty much what we do everyday, except on Fridays and the weekend.  The only day we do not do Bible is on Sunday, since we worship as a family at church.

 

Items noted in blue are me (my favorite color), pink is daughter, green is school stuff.  Life skills are things around the house that need to be done.  It could be stacking firewood or folding laundry or baking.  These are all things they need to know how to do as adults.  I keep a separate list of morning and afternoon chores for myself.  I am working on a chore chart for the children right now.

 

This is what we shoot for, but sometimes we get off track.  Definitely off track this week as we are all not feeling too good!

2 thoughts on “Our Daily Routine

  1. It looks like you have a great schedule going on! I am great at WRITING schedules, horrible at keeping them! Something I am working on!

    Sherry

  2. Sherry,

    I have had the same problem. I have found that usually if a schedule we have written for ourselves is not working it isn’t going to. I tend to be too ambitious and write in about double the stuff I should. That’s where my Beloved comes in. He helps keep me in check.

    The Lord has been working on me in this area (and several others) so I think this is realistic for us. I really take the time to pray and ask the Lord to lead me and help me prioritize. Once I know my priorities, it is easy to create a routine and easier to stick with it (I still struggle to stay disciplined). Except for piano lessons, none of these time slots are written in stone, either. It’s more like, “after lunch, we clean up and have two hours of free time.” Most of the time lunch is 11:30 or noon, but we’ve had days when lunch ended up at 1:30. Yikes!

    I always read your comments and they have been a blessing to me. I will pray for you and your schedule.

    Kris

Leave a Reply

