August 29 In My Kitchen

Yesterday, I had a lot of work to do in the kitchen, as it was still a mess from the company barbecue we put on on Saturday.  I did a lot of cooking and not a lot of cleaning.  So as soon as I got the baby down for his morning nap, I tackled that and then #1 and I made a big batch of granola.  I could smell it cooking while I cleaned out and cleaned the frig – a project long overdue.  I barely got it done when baby got up from his nap and wanted to eat, so I fed him and them I fed everyone else lunch.

 

I had a loaf of French bread that didn't get eaten, so last night I made oven French Toast and then, listen to this, I set my oven to come on at 7 am this morning! I got out the instructions and it was easy.  I figured my Beloved could trhow it in the oven when he got the children up for their Bible study this morning.  But I got up earlier than usual and beat him to it.  I also made his lunch last night before I went to bed to save myself the time crunch this morning.  Those extra minutes of preparation sure have made my morning go much more smoothly.

 

I wanted to share about a cookbook I have called Make-A-Mix by Karine Eliason, Nevada Harward & Madeline Westover.  If you already have this book, thumbs up!  It is a great resource.  I have been busy in the kitchen making some of these mixes for my pantry and freezer.  Here's what I've got so far: Buttermilk Pancake Mix, Sweet Quick Bread Mix, Slice and Bake Peanut Butter Cookies and Slice and Bake Oatmeal Cookies.  The granola also came from this book.  I don't like the recipe as well as my usual one, but this makes a bigger batch.  I will have to play around with this one a bit, I think.

 

I really like the ability to control what my family eats.  Prepared food from the store contains MSG and other additives that are not healthy for us.  But let's face it, we all need the convenience of convenience foods sometimes.  We just don't need the junk or the high price.  That's where this book comes in.  It contains the recipes for 67 do-it-yourself mixes.  They have spice mixes for spaghetti, dips, dressings, and rice.  I have tried the spice mixes for spaghetti and chili and am looking forward to trying to make my own version of Rice A Roni.  That's one convenience food we usually have in our pantry.  Everyone likes it!

 

There is so much more in this book, that I would recommend checking it out at your local library to see if it's for you.  Besides the mix recipes, there are 306 recipes to use the mixes with, so you don't get stuck with useless items in your pantry.  Most of the recipes that require sugar call for granulated sugar, but the beauty of this book is you can use any kind of sweetener you prefer.  Just substitute whatever your family uses.

 

Today I plan to make the Hot Roll Mix.  For dinner we will have stir fry using the leftover tri tip from last night, vegetables and brown rice.  I'll add some watermelon slices to the table, too.  Well, I'm off to do laundry. 

 

Have a great day in the Lord!

Leave a Reply

